West of the Pecos Museum – the Orient Hotel & Saloon
Touted as the “best hotel between Fort Worth and El Paso”, The Number 11 Saloon, with guestrooms on the second floor – was built in 1896 of Pecos Valley red sandstone. The quarry was just 8 miles east of Pecos. The three story hotel was added in 1904 by R.S. Johnson. Mr. Johnson, a retired Texas Ranger, was in charge of the saloon and his wife ran the hotel. The hotel served as a headquarters for land promoters, salesmen and families of settlers in the early years of Pecos Valley development.
The hotel and saloon were restored in 1962 and opened as the West of the Pecos Museum in 1963. Many civic organizations and groups contributed volunteer hours and resources to the museum’s exhibits. Original pressed tin ceiling, hand – carved newel posts were preserved.. Most of the furnishings in the Number 11 Saloon are original. Over 50 rooms of pioneer history and memorabilia are housed in the old hotel and saloon. Take time to tour the museum and experience the old west of the Pecos history.